fbpx

HooknBookMN

How to Sign Your Title

How to Sign Your Car's Title

Here’s a quick guide to signing your Minnesota car title so you can sell your junker for quick cash.

Where to Sign Your Name

On the front of the title, on the left side, locate the SIGNATURE(S) of SELLER(S) section, and sign your name there. ALWAYS sign in the Sellers section, never the Buyers section!

 

Where to Print Your Name

Directly below the signature section, you’ll find the section called PRINTED NAME OF SELLER.

 

What if There’s Multiple Owners?

Both owners must sign the title!
 

What if I Don’t Have the Title?

Minnesota law requires that a title is present when selling a vehicle. If you’ve lost or misplaced your title, you can request a duplicate from the DVS deputy Registrar’s office.
 

Additional Tips

  • If you have a lien listed on your title, it needs to be signed off, or you must contact the financial institution to obtain a lien release letter.
  • Only use black or blue ink when signing the title
  • Never use white out, and do not cross out or write over anything on your title.
 

Timing and cost

If you go to the registrar’s office in person, you can have the duplicate title in about 7-10 business days. If you request your duplicate title by mail, it could take 4-6 weeks. The cost for a duplicate title is $17.25

Minnesota Car Title

Have a junk car, truck, van or SUV that you want to get rid of?

WE WILL BUY IT!

Get cash in exchange for your junk car, SUV, truck or van! Hook & Book Towing MN has extensive experience buying cars, plus we tow for free!

Vehicle Scrapping & Towing MN